March 29, 2018

Philadelphia Phillies

The Philadelphia Phillies are an American professional baseball team based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They are the oldest continuous, one-name, one-city franchise in all of professional American sports, dating back to 1883. The Phillies compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division. Since 2004, the team’s home has been Citizens Bank Park, located in South Philadelphia.

The Phillies have won two World Series championships (against the Kansas City Royals in 1980 and the Tampa Bay Rays in 2008) and seven National League pennants, the first of which came in 1915. The franchise has also experienced long periods of struggle. Since the first modern World Series was played in 1903, the Phillies played 77 consecutive seasons (and 97 seasons from the club’s establishment) before they won their first World Series—longer than any other of the 16 teams that made up the major leagues for the first half of the 20th century. The 77 season drought is the fourth longest World Series drought in Major League Baseball history. The longevity of the franchise and its history of adversity have earned it the dubious distinction of having lost the most games of any team in the history of American professional sports. Despite the team’s lack of success historically, they are one of the more successful franchises since the start of the Divisional Era in Major League Baseball. The Phillies have won their division 11 times, which ranks 6th among all teams and 4th in the National League, including five consecutive division titles from 2007 to 2011.

The franchise was founded in Philadelphia in 1883, replacing the team from Worcester, Massachusetts in the National League. The team has played at several stadiums in the city, beginning with Recreation Park and continuing at Baker Bowl; Shibe Park, which was later renamed Connie Mack Stadium in honor of the longtime Philadelphia Athletics manager; Veterans Stadium; and now Citizens Bank Park.

The team’s spring training facilities are located in Clearwater, Florida, where its Class-A minor league affiliate Clearwater Threshers plays at Spectrum Field. Its Double-A affiliate is the Reading Fightin Phils, which plays in Reading, Pennsylvania, and its Triple-A affiliate is the Lehigh Valley IronPigs, which plays in Allentown, Pennsylvania.

Philadelphia Phillies

Manager: Gabe Kapler
Mascot: Phillie Phanatic
Arena/Stadium: Citizens Bank Park
General manager: Matt Klentak
World Series championships: 2008, 1980

Postseason Results
2011 League Divisional Series St. Louis Cardinals L 2-3
2010 League Championship Series San Francisco Giants L 2-4
2010 League Divisional Series Cincinnati Reds W 3-0
2009 World Series New York Yankees L 2-4
2009 League Championship Series Los Angeles Dodgers W 4-1
2009 League Divisional Series Colorado Rockies W 3-1
2008 World Series Tampa Bay Rays W 4-1
2008 League Championship Series Los Angeles Dodgers W 4-1
2008 League Divisional Series Milwaukee Brewers W 3-1
2007 League Divisional Series Colorado Rockies L 0-3
1993 World Series Toronto Blue Jays L 2-4
1993 League Championship Series Atlanta Braves W 4-2
1983 World Series Baltimore Orioles L 1-4
1983 League Championship Series Los Angeles Dodgers W 3-1
1980 World Series Kansas City Royals W 4-2
1980 League Championship Series Houston Astros W 3-2
1978 League Championship Series Los Angeles Dodgers L 1-3
1977 League Championship Series Los Angeles Dodgers L 1-3
1976 League Championship Series Cincinnati Reds L 0-3
1950 World Series New York Yankees L 0-4
1915 World Series Boston Red Sox L 1-4