March 29, 2018

Minnesota Twins

The Minnesota Twins are an American professional baseball team based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Twins compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central division. The team is named after the Twin Cities area comprising Minneapolis and St. Paul. They played in Metropolitan Stadium from 1961 to 1981 and the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome from 1982 to 2009. They played their inaugural game at the newly completed Target Field on April 12, 2010.

The team was founded in Washington, D.C. in 1901 as one of the eight original teams of the American League, named the Washington Senators or Washington Nationals. Although the Washington team endured long bouts of mediocrity (immortalized in the 1955 Broadway musical Damn Yankees), they had a period of prolonged success in the 1920s and 1930s, led by Baseball Hall of Fame members Bucky Harris, Goose Goslin, Sam Rice, Heinie Manush, Joe Cronin, and Walter Johnson. Manager Clark Griffith joined the team in 1912 and became the team’s owner in 1920. The franchise remained under Griffith family ownership until 1984.

In 1960, Major League Baseball granted the city of Minneapolis an expansion team. Washington owner Calvin Griffith, Clark’s nephew and adopted son, requested that he be allowed to move his team to Minneapolis-St. Paul and instead give Washington the expansion team. Upon league approval, the team moved to Minnesota after the 1960 season, setting up shop in Metropolitan Stadium, while Washington fielded a brand new “Washington Senators” (which later became the Texas Rangers prior to the 1972 season).

Success came quickly to the team in Minnesota. Sluggers Harmon Killebrew and Bob Allison, who had already been stars in Washington, were joined by Tony Oliva and Zoilo Versalles, and later second baseman Rod Carew and pitchers Jim Kaat and Jim Perry, winning the American League pennant in 1965.[15] A second wave of success came in the late 1980s and early 1990s under manager Tom Kelly, led by Kent Hrbek, Bert Blyleven, Frank Viola, and Kirby Puckett, winning the franchise’s second and third World Series (and first and second in Minnesota).

Through the 2016 season, the franchise has won three World Series championships (1924, 1987, and 1991), and has fielded 18 American League batting champions. The team has hosted five All-Star Games (1937, 1956, 1965, 1985 and 2014).

Minnesota Twins

World Series titles (3): 1924; 1987; 1991
President of Baseball Operations: Derek Falvey
Central Division titles (6): 2002; 2003; 2004; 2006; 2009; 2010
West Division titles (4): 1969; 1970; 1987; 1991
AL Pennants (6): 1924; 1925; 1933; 1965; 1987; 1991
Postseason Results
2017 Wild Card Game New York Yankees L 0-1
2010 League Divisional Series New York Yankees L 0-3
2009 League Divisional Series New York Yankees L 0-3
2006 League Divisional Series Oakland Athletics L 0-3
2004 League Divisional Series New York Yankees L 1-3
2003 League Divisional Series New York Yankees L 1-3
2002 League Championship Series Anaheim Angels L 1-4
2002 League Divisional Series Oakland Athletics W 3-2
1991 World Series Atlanta Braves W 4-3
1991 League Championship Series Toronto Blue Jays W 4-1
1987 World Series St. Louis Cardinals W 4-3
1987 League Championship Series Detroit Tigers W 4-1
1970 League Championship Series Baltimore Orioles L 0-3
1969 League Championship Series Baltimore Orioles L 0-3
1965 World Series Los Angeles Dodgers L 3-4
1933 World Series New York Giants L 1-4
1925 World Series Pittsburgh Pirates L 3-4
1924 World Series New York Giants W 4-3