March 29, 2018

Cleveland Indians

The Cleveland Indians are an American professional baseball team based in Cleveland, Ohio. The Indians compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central division. Since 1994, they have played at Progressive Field. The team’s spring training facility is at Goodyear Ballpark in Goodyear, Arizona. Since their establishment as a major league franchise in 1901, the Indians have won two World Series championships: in 1920 and 1948, along with nine Central Division titles and six American League pennants. The Indians’ current World Series championship drought is the longest active drought.

The name “Indians” originated from a request by club owner Charles Somers to baseball writers to choose a new name to replace “Cleveland Naps” following the departure of Nap Lajoie after the 1914 season. The name referenced the nickname “Indians” that was applied to the Cleveland Spiders baseball club during the time when Louis Sockalexis, a Native American, played in Cleveland. Common nicknames for the Indians include the “Tribe” and the “Wahoos”, the latter being a reference to their logo, Chief Wahoo. Also, the team’s mascot is named “Slider.”

The franchise originated in Grand Rapids, Michigan, in 1894 as the Grand Rapids Rustlers, a minor league team that competed in the Western League. The team then relocated to Cleveland in 1900 and changed its name to the Cleveland Lake Shores. The Western League itself changed its name to the American League while continuing its minor league status. One of the American League’s eight charter franchises, the major league incarnation of the club was founded in Cleveland in 1901. Originally called the Cleveland Bluebirds, the team played in League Park until moving permanently to Cleveland Stadium in 1946. At the end of the 2017 season, they had a regular season franchise record of 9,293–8,897 (.511). On September 14, 2017, the Cleveland Indians won their 22nd straight game. It extended the new American League record they set the previous game, while also becoming the longest winning streak with no ties in Major League Baseball history.

Cleveland Indians

World Series titles (2): 1920; 1948
President of Baseball Operations: Chris Antonetti
AL Pennants (6): 1920; 1948; 1954; 1995; 1997; 2016
Central Division titles (9): 1995; 1996; 1997; 1998; 1999; 2001; 2007; 2016; 2017
Did you know: The Cleveland Indians have the second-longest MLB unbeaten streak by games (22).

Postseason Results
2016 World Series Chicago Cubs L 3-4
2016 League Championship Series Toronto Blue Jays W 4-1
2016 League Divisional Series Boston Red Sox W 3-0
2013 Wild Card Game Tampa Bay Rays L 0-1
2007 League Championship Series Boston Red Sox L 3-4
2007 League Divisional Series New York Yankees W 3-1
2001 League Divisional Series Seattle Mariners L 2-3
1999 League Divisional Series Boston Red Sox L 2-3
1998 League Championship Series New York Yankees L 2-4
1998 League Divisional Series Boston Red Sox W 3-1
1997 World Series Florida Marlins L 3-4
1997 League Championship Series Baltimore Orioles W 4-2
1997 League Divisional Series New York Yankees W 3-2
1996 League Divisional Series Baltimore Orioles L 1-3
1995 World Series Atlanta Braves L 2-4
1995 League Championship Series Seattle Mariners W 4-2
1995 League Divisional Series Boston Red Sox W 3-0
1954 World Series New York Giants L 0-4
1948 World Series Boston Braves W 4-2
1920 World Series Brooklyn Dodgers W 5-2