March 29, 2018

Chicago White Sox

The Chicago White Sox are an American professional baseball team based in Chicago. The White Sox compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central division. Home games are held at Guaranteed Rate Field, located on the city’s South Side, and the team is owned by Jerry Reinsdorf. They are one of two major league clubs in Chicago; the other is the Chicago Cubs, who are a member of the National League (NL) Central division.

One of the American League’s eight charter franchises, the franchise was established as a major league baseball club in 1901. The club was originally called the Chicago White Stockings, but this was soon shortened to Chicago White Sox. The team originally played home games at South Side Park before moving to Comiskey Park in 1910, where they played until Guaranteed Rate Field opened in 1991.

The White Sox won the 1906 World Series with a defense-oriented team dubbed “the Hitless Wonders”, and the 1917 World Series led by Eddie Cicotte, Eddie Collins, and Shoeless Joe Jackson. The 1919 World Series was marred by the Black Sox Scandal, in which several members of the White Sox were accused of conspiring with gamblers to fix games. In response, Major League Baseball’s new Commissioner Kenesaw Mountain Landis banned the players from Major League Baseball for life. In 1959, led by Early Wynn, Nellie Fox, Luis Aparicio and manager Al López, the White Sox won the American League pennant. They won the AL pennant in 2005, and went on to win the World Series, led by Paul Konerko, Mark Buehrle, catcher A. J. Pierzynski, and the first Latino manager to win the World Series, Ozzie Guillén.

Chicago White Sox

Arena/Stadium: Guaranteed Rate Field
Manager: Rick Renteria
Mascot: Southpaw
World Series championships: 2005, 1917, 1906
Did you know: The Chicago White Sox have the eighth-longest MLB unbeaten streak by games (19^).

Postseason Results
2008 League Divisional Series Tampa Bay Rays L 1-3
2005 World Series Houston Astros W 4-0
2005 League Championship Series Los Angeles Angels W 4-1
2005 League Divisional Series Boston Red Sox W 3-0
2000 League Divisional Series Seattle Mariners L 0-3
1993 League Championship Series Toronto Blue Jays L 2-4
1983 League Championship Series Baltimore Orioles L 1-3
1959 World Series Los Angeles Dodgers L 2-4
1919 World Series Cincinnati Reds L 3-5
1917 World Series New York Giants W 4-2
1906 World Series Chicago Cubs W 4-2