March 29, 2018

Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs are an American professional baseball team based in Chicago, Illinois. The Cubs compete in Major League Baseball as a member club of the National League Central division. The team plays its home games at Wrigley Field, located on the city’s North Side. The Cubs are one of two major league teams in Chicago; the other, the Chicago White Sox, is a member of the American League (AL) Central division. The Cubs, first known as the White Stockings, was a founding member of the NL in 1876, becoming the Chicago Cubs in 1903.

The Cubs have appeared in a total of eleven World Series. The 1906 Cubs won 116 games, finishing 116–36 and posting a modern-era record winning percentage of .763, before losing the World Series to the Chicago White Sox (“The Hitless Wonders”) by four games to two. The Cubs won back-to-back World Series championships in 1907 and 1908, becoming the first major league team to play in three consecutive World Series, and the first to win it twice. Most recently, the Cubs won the 2016 National League Championship Series and 2016 World Series, which ended a 71-year National League pennant drought and a 108-year World Series championship drought, both of which are record droughts in Major League Baseball. The 108-year drought was also the longest such occurrence in all major North American sports. Since the start of divisional play in 1969, the Cubs have appeared in the postseason nine times through the 2017 season.

The Cubs are known as “the North Siders”, a reference to the location of Wrigley Field within the city of Chicago, and in contrast to the White Sox, whose home field (Guaranteed Rate Field) is located on the South Side.

The Cubs have multiple rivalries. There is a divisional rivalry with the St. Louis Cardinals, a newer rivalry with the Milwaukee Brewers and an interleague rivalry with the Chicago White Sox.

Chicago Cubs

Manager: Joe Maddon
Arena/Stadium: Wrigley Field
World Series championships: 2016, 1908, 1907
Owners: Thomas S. Ricketts, Laura Ricketts, Pete Ricketts, Todd Ricketts, Joe Ricketts
Did you know: The Chicago Cubs have the third-longest MLB unbeaten streak by games (21).

Postseason Results
2017 League Championship Series Los Angeles Dodgers L 1-4
2017 League Divisional Series Washington Nationals W 3-2
2016 World Series Cleveland Indians W 4-3
2016 League Championship Series Los Angeles Dodgers W 4-2
2016 League Divisional Series San Francisco Giants W 3-1
2015 League Championship Series New York Mets L 0-4
2015 League Divisional Series St. Louis Cardinals W 3-1
2015 Wild Card Game Pittsburgh Pirates W 1-0
2008 League Divisional Series Los Angeles Dodgers L 0-3
2007 League Divisional Series Arizona Diamondbacks L 0-3
2003 League Championship Series Florida Marlins L 3-4
2003 League Divisional Series Atlanta Braves W 3-2
1998 League Divisional Series Atlanta Braves L 0-3
1989 League Championship Series San Francisco Giants L 1-4
1984 League Championship Series San Diego Padres L 2-3
1945 World Series Detroit Tigers L 3-4
1938 World Series New York Yankees L 0-4
1935 World Series Detroit Tigers L 2-4
1932 World Series New York Yankees L 0-4
1929 World Series Philadelphia Athletics L 1-4
1918 World Series Boston Red Sox L 2-4
1910 World Series Philadelphia Athletics L 1-4
1908 World Series Detroit Tigers W 4-1
1907 World Series Detroit Tigers W 4-0
1906 World Series Chicago White Sox L 2-4