March 29, 2018

Baltimore Orioles

The Baltimore Orioles are an American professional baseball team based in Baltimore, Maryland. The Orioles compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) East division. As one of the AL’s original eight charter franchises when the league was established in 1901, this particular franchise spent its first year as a major league club in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, as the Milwaukee Brewers before moving to St. Louis, Missouri to become the St. Louis Browns. After 52 often-beleaguered years in St. Louis, the franchise was purchased in November 1953 by a syndicate of Baltimore business and civic interests led by attorney/civic activist Clarence Miles and Mayor Thomas D’Alesandro, Jr. The team’s current majority owner is lawyer Peter Angelos.

The Orioles adopted their team name in honor of the official state bird of Maryland; it had also been used by several previous major and minor league baseball clubs in Baltimore, including the team that moved and was later renamed the New York Yankees. Nicknames for the team include the “O’s” and the “Birds”.

The Orioles experienced their greatest success from 1966 to 1983, when they made six World Series appearances, winning three of them (1966, 1970, 1983). This era saw the club feature several future Hall of Famers who would later be inducted representing the Orioles, such as third baseman Brooks Robinson, outfielder Frank Robinson, starting pitcher Jim Palmer, first baseman Eddie Murray, shortstop Cal Ripken, Jr., and manager Earl Weaver. The Orioles have won a total of nine division championships (1969–1971, 1973–1974, 1979, 1983, 1997, 2014), six pennants (1966, 1969–1971, 1979, 1983), and three wild card berths (1996, 2012, 2016).

After suffering a stretch of 14 straight losing seasons from 1998 to 2011, the team has qualified for the postseason three times since 2012 under manager Buck Showalter, including a division title and advancement to the American League Championship Series for the first time in 17 years in 2014.

The Orioles are also well-known for their influential ballpark, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, which opened in 1992 in downtown Baltimore.

Baltimore Orioles

World Series titles (3): 1966; 1970; 1983
East Division titles (9): 1969; 1970; 1971; 1973; 1974; 1979; 1983; 1997; 2014
AL Pennants (7): 1944; 1966; 1969; 1970; 1971; 1979; 1983
Arena/Stadium: Oriole Park at Camden Yards
Retired numbers: 4; 5; 8; 20; 22; 33; 42

Postseason Results
2016 Wild Card Game Toronto Blue Jays L 0-1
2014 League Championship Series Kansas City Royals L 0-4
2014 League Divisional Series Detroit Tigers W 3-0
2012 League Divisional Series New York Yankees L 2-3
2012 Wild Card Game Texas Rangers W 1-0
1997 League Championship Series Cleveland Indians L 2-4
1997 League Divisional Series Seattle Mariners W 3-1
1996 League Championship Series New York Yankees L 1-4
1996 League Divisional Series Cleveland Indians W 3-1
1983 World Series Philadelphia Phillies W 4-1
1983 League Championship Series Chicago White Sox W 3-1
1979 World Series Pittsburgh Pirates L 3-4
1979 League Championship Series California Angels W 3-1
1974 League Championship Series Oakland Athletics L 0-3
1973 League Championship Series Oakland Athletics L 2-3
1971 World Series Pittsburgh Pirates L 3-4
1971 League Championship Series Oakland Athletics W 3-0
1970 World Series Cincinnati Reds W 4-1
1970 League Championship Series Minnesota Twins W 3-0
1969 World Series New York Mets L 1-4
1969 League Championship Series Minnesota Twins W 3-0
1966 World Series Los Angeles Dodgers W 4-0
1944 World Series St. Louis Cardinals L 2-4